NASEO is organized into six regions to facilitate coordination among state energy officials, develop multi-state programs to leverage resources, and foster peer sharing around policies and programs.

NASEO continues to facilitate regular communication, coordination, and convenings of the state energy offices in each region.  Regional break-out sessions are always scheduled at both the Winter Energy Policy Outlook Conference held each February in Washington, DC, and the Annual Meeting.  In addition, stand-alone meetings are convened in each region in the Spring.  Regional conference calls are held several times each year as well.

NASEO Regions

NASEO Regional Meetings

NASEO hosts a series of Regional Meetings each year for the State Energy Offices.  During these events, State Energy Officials convene to address pressing issues and identify regional actions on subjects ranging from program direction under the U.S. State Energy Program (SEP) to comprehensive and strategic approaches within state energy planning.  In addition, NASEO regional meetings provide attendees with a chance to exchange ideas, interact with important stakeholders from across the region, strategize over current and upcoming challenges, and explore opportunities and potential collaborations with other industry experts.

NASEO Board of Directors Regional Representatives

Northeast Dan Burgess, Maine
Katie Dykes, Connecticut
Mid-Atlantic David A. Althoff, Jr., Pennsylvania
Nick Burger, District of Columbia
Southeast Mitchell Simpson, Arkansas
Kenya Stump, Kentucky

Julie Staveland, Michigan
Emily Wilbur, Missouri


Lynn Retz, Kansas
Maria Effertz, North Dakota

West Michael Furze, Washington
Richard Stover, Idaho
Territories Rebecca Recpicio, Guam