

National Association of State Energy Officials

August 11, 2023

Dr. Henry McKoy Director, Office of State and Community Energy Programs U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Ave SW Washington, DC

Dear Director McKoy,

We want to thank you and the entire U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of State and Community Energy Programs (SCEP) team for their extraordinary efforts to release the Administrative and Legal Requirements Document (ALRD) for the Home Energy Rebate Programs. We also appreciate SCEP's recent release of the ALRD for the Contractor Training Grants which may allow State Energy Offices to coordinate the home energy rebate and contractor training programs. Because of the complexity of the Contractor Training Grants ALRD, as well as the timing of the Home Energy Rebates ALRD, we ask DOE to provide confirmation of the final due date for the Contractor Training Grants application and to ensure that date is at least three months later than the initial due date of September 30, 2023.

During the DOE webinar presentation to the State Energy Offices on the Contractor Training Grants on July 24, 2023, DOE indicated an "initial due date" of September 30, 2023. After consulting with the State Energy Offices, including those that intend to participate in the rebate program "Quick Start" application, it became clear that the September 30 deadline is nearly impossible to meet if states are to be fully responsive to the ALRD and establish good linkage with the Home Energy Rebates ALRD. We urge DOE to make clear the final due date for the Contractor Training Grant application as soon as possible, and we recommend that the final application deadline be no sooner than January 15, 2024, and to avoid late December holiday schedules.

Best regards,

David Terry, President National Association of State Energy Officials

1300 North 17th Street Suite 1275 Arlington, Virginia 22209

Telephone: 703.299.8800 www.naseo.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Chair JOHN WILLIAMS New York

Vice Chair MOLLY CRIPPS Tennessee

Treasurer EDDY TREVINO Texas

Secretary WILL TOOR Colorado

Parliamentarian JASON LANCLOS Louisiana

Member at Large MICHELLE GRANSEE Minnesota

Past Chair ANDREW MCALLISTER California

Regional Representatives

DAN BURGESS Maine

KATIE DYKES Connecticut

DAVE ALTHOFF Pennsylvania

KAREN LASURE West Virginia

MITCHELL SIMPSON Arkansas

KENYA STUMP Kentucky

BRIAN SELINGER Iowa

MICHAEL FURZE Washington

RICHARD STOVER Idaho

LYNN RETZ Kansa

President DAVID TERRY

General Counsel JEFFREY C. GENZER