

September 30, 2021

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader, U.S. Senate 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Chairman Manchin
U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and
Natural Resources
304 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader, U.S. Senate 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Ranking Minority Member Barrasso U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: Nomination of Maria Robinson for Assistant Secretary, Office of Electricity, U.S. Department of Energy

The National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO), which represents the governor-designated State Energy Directors from the 56 states, territories, and District of Columbia, strongly supports the confirmation of Maria Duaime Robinson as Assistant Secretary in the Office of Electricity at the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

State Representative Robinson, in her current, historic role as the first Korean-American legislator in the Massachusetts House of Representatives, has extensive expertise and capabilities in clean energy policymaking and regulation. Her academic background in law and chemical engineering, combined with her professional experience as a lawmaker, convener, analyst, and lecturer, makes her uniquely qualified to take on the multi-faceted role of leading DOE's Office of Electricity and its work in technology research and development, grid resilience, and energy infrastructure modernization. Moreover, her understanding of the substantial state role in guiding electricity markets brings essential expertise to DOE as electricity issues take center stage in the move toward a clean energy future. For these reasons, NASEO has full confidence that State Representative Robinson will uphold the critical function that DOE's Office of Electricity plays in bridging federal, state, local, private sector, and research stakeholders around the shared goal of advancing clean, reliable, and affordable electricity across the United States.

NASEO applauds the selection of State Representative Robinson and encourages the Committee to move quickly on her confirmation.

Sincerely,

David Terry, Executive Director, NASEO CC: U.S. State Energy Directors

1300 North 17<sup>th</sup> Street Suite 1275 Arlington, Virginia 22209

Telephone: 703.299.8800 www.naseo.org

### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

#### Chair

KELLEY SMITH BURK Florida

### **Vice Chair**

JOHN WILLIAMS New York

#### Treasurer

MOLLY CRIPPS Tennessee

### Secretary

WILL TOOR Colorado

#### **Past Chair**

ANDREW MCALLISTER

### **Parliamentarian**

JASON LANCLOS Louisiana

#### **Regional Representatives**

DAN BURGESS Maine

PATRICK WOODCOCK Massachusetts

DAVE ALTHOFF Pennsylvania

MARY BETH TUNG Maryland

MITCHELL SIMPSON

SUMESH ARORA Mississippi

MICHELLE GRANSEE
Minnesota

CHAD KRUSE Illinois

MICHAEL FURZE Washington

JOHN CHATBURN Idaho

EDDY TREVINO

DAN LLOYD Montana

## Affiliates' Co-Chairs

ELIZABETH BEARDSLEY
U.S. Green Buildings Council

## **Executive Director**

DAVID TERRY

# **General Counsel**

JEFFREY C. GENZER